The Building

The Clock House building was designed by architect Arthur Vernon and was opened on 13th December 1893 originally housing the Science and Arts Schools. Currently it is used as student accommodation. The building has had many uses during it’s lifetime including as a swimming pool, however despite its rich history the building is not afforded any listed protection whatsoever by English Heritage.








A three-storey detached Victorian building of Queen Anne Revival style, with imposing brick elevations; the entrance built at the base of the clock-tower which, with cupola and weather-vane, is the dominant feature. The building was erected in 1893 as the School of Science and the Arts. Between the wars it became a swimming pool, and later a skating rink. In 1946 it was converted to a theatre by four ex-servicemen with repertory experience.








It would seem the conversion was a fairly make-shift affair due to post-war restrictions on building work. The auditorium floor was raked and seated ‘by a London firm of theatre furnishers’. There was no balcony. The stage was built incorporating a series of electric lifts to enable scene changing, varying floor levels and stairways. There was a workshop and a café. Over the years a laundry, effects room and club room were converted, and later the company ran a drama school. Financial difficulties forced closure in 1957. The building fell into disrepair and was converted to offices in 1984.